2-Step verification

Turn on 2-step verification to add an extra layer of security to your account. When 2-step verification is enabled, you will be challenged with two security challenges each time you sign in to your Uber account.

Enable 2-step verification

  1. Navigate to account management once signed into your account
  2. Select Security
  3. Select 2-step verification
  4. Follow the remaining steps on your device

Even if you don’t enable 2-step verification, Uber may sometimes require 2-step verification to better protect your account. For example, if you request a copy of your data or wish to delete your account, Uber will require you to answer a security challenge to verify your identity.

Disable 2-step verification

  1. Navigate to account management once signed into your account
  2. Select Security
  3. Select 2-step verification
  4. Toggle off 2-step verification

Which option should I use to get verification codes?

Text message

Uber will send a verification code in a text message to the phone number used to set up 2-step verification. Standard messaging and data rates will apply.

If you can’t update your phone number under account management, contact us for help.

You may not be able to receive text messages if you’re traveling, don’t have cell service, or opt out of SMS messages from Uber.

Security app

Your verification codes are generated by the security app, so you don’t need a phone number attached to your account.

Security apps work offline, so this is a good option if you travel frequently or request rides from different devices than your mobile phone.

What are backup codes?

Backup codes can be used to sign in to your account if you aren’t getting verification codes.

We encourage you to save and store your backup codes in a safe place after setting up 2-step verification. If you lose your phone and need to access your account, these codes will help you sign in to your Uber account.

To sign in with a backup code:

  1. On the screen where you enter the verification code, select an alternative method of verification
  2. Select Use backup code and enter one of your saved backup codes

Backup codes can only be used once. If you use all of your codes and can’t sign in to get new ones, you can contact support for help.